Home History Culture Lawrence Welk

Step Back in a Time with a Visit to the Childhood Home of Lawrence Welk (1903 - 1992)

 


The historic Ludwig Welk Homestead brings the past alive.

In 1989 Pioneer Heritage, Inc. (a non-profit organization) was formed. The Welk Home was placed on the National Register as a Centennial project and restoration began in 1990.

The six acre site was leased from the Schwab family for 99 years. The site is typical of the early German-Russian settler’s farms. In May 1991 the Welk Homestead was opened to the public.

Many of the original furnishings have been placed in the sod house along with other antiques from the 1920’s Out Buildings that have been restored are the summer kitchen, carriage house, blacksmith shop, barn and privy. These are very much like they were when the renowned band leader Lawrence Welk was born and grew up on this farm.

Restoration of the Welk Homestead has been entirely paid for by private donations. No federal funds have been received.

As you step back in time at the Welk Homestead located near Strasburg, North Dakota, you will be welcomed by the beautiful countryside and clean air. You are in store for a wunnerful, wunnerful time.

 


 

 

Ludwig and Christina (Schwahn) emigrated to the United States in 1893 from Catholic Black Sea German villages near Odessa, Russia. They arrived in New York in April of 1893 and traveled by train to Eureka, South Dakota. There they purchased a team of oxen and a cart and traveled 50 miles overland to their homestead northwest of what is now Strasburg, North Dakota. The city was established 10 years later.

After the family lived briefly in a temporary claim shack, Ludwig built the present sod home. The construction technique – mud and clay bricks – was taught to his forefathers on the steppe of Russia.

Having lost a child (Anton) before emigrating, the Welk’s second child, John, was born soon after they arrived in North Dakota. Their other seven children, Barbara, Anna Mary, Louie, Lawrence (March 11, 1903), Agatha, Michael and Eva were born in the wood sided sod house that still stands.

Ludwig and Christina retired and moved into Strasburg in the late 1920’s He died in 1937 and she in 1940; both are buried at St. Peter & Paul Cemetery at Strasburg.

Lawrence left home on his birthday in 1924 to pursue his musical career. On July 2, 1955, he made his debut on national television. The Lawrence Welk Show was produced for 26 years and today reruns of the popular program air weekly throughout the United States.

Lawrence and his wife Fern (Renner) had three children, Larry, Jr., Shirley, and Donna. Lawrence died in 1992 and Fern did in 2002. Both are buried in California.

The Welk Homestead is open daily.

May 15 to September 15
Hours 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Guided tours, videos & gift shop
Admission Charged

Open by appointment during off-season


Permission to use any images from the GRHC website may be requested by contacting Michael M. Miller
North Dakota State University Libraries
Germans from Russia Heritage Collection
Libraries
NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Tel: 701-231-8416
Fax: 701-231-6128
Last Updated:
Director: Michael M. Miller
North Dakota State University Library North Dakota State University North Dakota State University GRHC Home